Anti lebanon shuker carl. Fiction Book Review: Anti Lebanon by Carl Shuker. Counterpoint (PGW, dist.), $16.95 trade paper (224p) ISBN 978 2019-01-24

Anti lebanon shuker carl Rating: 6,8/10 234 reviews

Anti Lebanon: A Novel by Carl Shuker (9781619021150)

anti lebanon shuker carl

Is Leon now a vampire? It is the Arab Spring and the fate of the Christians of the Middle East is uncertain. It would spoil too much of Anti Lebanon to delineate all its movements; suffice to say its unsettling shifts are grounded in motifs of dogs, water, film, art, crashes, the peri, the vampire. The criminal and the victim alike return to the scene of the crime. Ballard, no one alive writes better sentences. Events take a ghostly and mysterious turn as the factions jostling for power in Beirut begin to align against him and his family, and he is Author description Carl Shuker was born in New Zealand in 1974, and lived many years in Tokyo before settling in London, where he lives with his wife and daughter.

Next

Carl Shuker

anti lebanon shuker carl

Leon Elias is a young and impoverished Lebanese man whose older sister had joined a Christian militia and has been killed. Anti Lebanon is a cross-genre political thriller and horror story embedded within these recent events, featuring a multiethnic Christian family living out the lingering after-effects of Lebanon's civil war as it struggles to deal with its phantoms, its ghosts, and its vampires. Anti Lebanon is a cross-genre political thriller and horror story embedded within these recent events, featuring a multiethnic Christian family living out the lingering after-effects of Lebanon's civil war as it struggles to deal with its phantoms, its ghosts, and its vampires. Anti Lebanon Author s : Share It is the Arab Spring and the fate of the Christians of the Middle East is uncertain. His second novel, the cult classic The Lazy Boys, was published by Counterpoint in 2007.

Next

Fiction Book Review: Anti Lebanon by Carl Shuker. Counterpoint (PGW, dist.), $16.95 trade paper (224p) ISBN 978

anti lebanon shuker carl

Carl Shuker is a remarkable writer. On a drunken night out he is involved in an act of violence that changes th This book showed me how woefully ignorant I was of the complex politics of Lebanon, and without the help of Google I would have been lost. Anti Lebanon will delight his fans and entrance anyone new to his fine work. When Hezbollah flex their muscles in a takeover of west Beirut, amid the old shell-scarred sandstone villas, the echoing gunfire, a young Christian wandering the emptied streets is entrapped in an act of violence that will awaken monsters from the civil war and beyond. Leon Elias is a young and impoverished Lebanese man whose older sister had joined a Christian militia and has been killed. A storyteller in the tradition of Celine and J. In this milieu—the emptied streets of Christian east Beirut, the old shell-scarred sandstone villas, the echoing gunfire—he becomes involved, only partly by choice, in the theft of a seriously valuable piece of artisanal jewelry, and is bitten—like a vampire—by its Armenian maker.

Next

Anti Lebanon by Carl Shuker

anti lebanon shuker carl

But then Shuker takes us other places. The novel answers this question clearly even as it refuses to explain or define what, exactly, being a vampire means. It is Arab Spring and the fate of the Christians of the Middle East is uncertain. The crucible for this change comes after a night of drinking ends in violence and theft. Though the intricacies of the plot require a working understanding of Middle Eastern politics and the power dynamics at play during Arab Spring, one cannot help but be captivated by the slow, mournful mood and atmosphere of Shuker's Beirut. The many Christians of Lebanon are walking a knife-edge, their very survival in their ancestral refuge in doubt, as the Lebanese government becomes Hezbollah-dominated, while Syria convulses with warring religious factions.

Next

Fiction Book Review: Anti Lebanon by Carl Shuker. Counterpoint (PGW, dist.), $16.95 trade paper (224p) ISBN 978

anti lebanon shuker carl

Anti Lebanon at times threatens to become an allegory of Mideast politics and history, using vampirism as its major trope, but then Shuker shifts us into new, weird territory. Summary It is Arab Spring and the fate of the Christians of the Middle East is uncertain. Anti Lebanon is a cross-genre political thriller and horror story emb It is Arab Spring and the fate of the Christians of the Middle East is uncertain. The many Christians of Lebanon are walking a knife-edge, their very survival in their ancestral refuge in doubt, as the Lebanese government becomes Hezbollah-dominated, while Syria convulses with warring religious factions. Ballard, no one alive writes better sentences.

Next

Carl Shuker

anti lebanon shuker carl

Leon is a artist, recently graduated from university, and unable to use his degree due to the war. “Combining a thriller and a horror story into a single melancholic narrative, Shuker has created a haunting and riveting account of war, loss, and exile. He stood and held his hot neck looking at the fallen boy and then knew that someone else was there. Anti Lebanon is a cross-genre political thriller and horror story embedded within these recent events, featuring a multiethnic Christian family living out the lingering after-effects of Lebanon's civil war as it struggles to deal with its phantoms, its ghosts, and its vampires. Ballard, no one alive writes better sentences. Shuker also throws his reader into the metaphorical deep end of Mideast politics and history, offering little exposition that might help explain some of the complexity. In this milieuthe emptied streets of Christian east Beirut, the old shell-scarred sandstone villas, the echoing gunfirehe becomes involved, only partly by choice, in the theft of a seriously valuable piece of artisanal jewelry, and is bittenlike a vampireby its Armenian maker.

Next

Carl Shuker’s Anti Lebanon Reviewed

anti lebanon shuker carl

The Arab Spring has destabilized Lebanon, leaving its Christian population in a precarious position as Hezbollah dominates the government—and the streets. The many Christians of Lebanon are walking a knife-edge, their very survival in their ancestral refuge in doubt, as the Lebanese government becomes Hezbollah-dominated, while Syria convulses with warring religious factions. It seems to suggest we can go anywhere with the novel, that it can contain anything. The situation takes a strange turn, however, when Leon is bitten by the jewels' Armenian maker and possibly transformed into a modern vampire, a primal being who, as his father explains, cannot be trusted. Ballard, no one alive writes better sentences.

Next

Anti Lebanon: A Novel by Carl Shuker (9781619021150)

anti lebanon shuker carl

Carl Shuker is a remarkable writer. Leon Elias is a young and impoverished Lebanese man whose older sister had joined a Christian militia and has been killed. Christian snipers took positions around Mar Mikhael overlooking Electricité du Liban. The many Christians of Lebanon are walking a knife-edge, their very survival in their ancestral refuge in doubt, as the Lebanese government becomes Hezbollah-dominated, while Syria convulses with warring religious factions. Carl Shuker is a remarkable writer.

Next

Fiction Book Review: Anti Lebanon by Carl Shuker. Counterpoint (PGW, dist.), $16.95 trade paper (224p) ISBN 978

anti lebanon shuker carl

Complicit in the theft of artisanal jewelry meant for a wealthy buyer in Iran, Leon finds himself wanted by the varying factions vying for power in Beirut. The many Christians of Lebanon walk a knife edge, their very survival in this ancestral refuge in doubt. Anti Lebanon will delight his fans and entrance anyone new to his fine work. In this milieu—the emptied streets of Christian east Beirut, the old shell-scarred sandstone villas, the echoing gunfire—he becomes involved, only partly by choice, in the theft of a seriously valuable piece of artisanal jewelry, and is bitten—like a vampire—by its Armenian maker. Leon is a artist, recently graduated from university, and unable to use his degree due to the war. Hovering in the fringes of the war-torn city, Leon then traverses a nightmarish landscape of demons as Shuker crafts a dark noir that is equal parts allegorical and hallucinogenic.

Next

Carl Shuker

anti lebanon shuker carl

The many Christians of Lebanon are walking a knife-edge, their very survival in their ancestral refuge in doubt, as the Lebanese government becomes Hezbollah-dominated, while Syria convulses with warring religious factions. . Anti Lebanon is new from. Anti Lebanon is unpredictable, strange, and very rewarding. New Zealand-born novelist Shuker The Lazy Boys places at its center Leon, a brooding Christian Lebanese filmmaker, and commences with a rather standard thriller plot. A storyteller in the tradition of Celine and J.

Next